A curse in disguise

22 Oct

Blessings can be curses in disguise.

You’d think that blessings make you praise God more.
During our hard times, we look forward to when we’re out of them or when our season of blessing comes.
And we say to God, “God, I promise, if you get me out of this, i’ll praise You more. I promise that i’ll be happy with what you give me, just as long as it’s not what i’m currently going through!”
But sometimes they just make you expect more.

Since arriving here I have been blessed by God.
A lot.
The 3 things that i had to sort out for living here were all pretty much sorted within a few weeks – place to stay, job and church.
I have made good quality friends and have enjoyed some travelling already!

But the human heart is deceitful.
Although i knew i’d been blessed, and i did praise God for it, sin seeped into my heart slowly.
At its worst, i found myself expecting more blessing, while also being envious of others’.
Disgusting.

I had begun to go after the gifts and not the Giver.
Idolatry.

Selfishness also creeped into my heart.
I began to view things as whether they served me or not, rather than how I should serve.

Thank God that He shook me to my senses by challenging me with the same question through a few different people.
God was simply challenging me with Mark 10:45 :
[For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.]

So I’ve decided I need an overhaul of my attitude.
What good is it for me to gain the whole world but forfeit my soul (Matt 15:26) ?
I want to keep sacrificing, submitting and surrendering my life to God – every part of it.
I want to do what Jesus did for me.
I want to serve.

Sometimes, blessings can be curses in disguise.

Thank You, Jesus, for turning it back into a blessing.

2 Responses to “A curse in disguise”

  1. Jason October 22, 2010 at 11:24 AM #

    it’s victor :O

    i’ve been thinking about this lately too

    we are blessed so that we may be a blessing to others,
    given so that we may give.

    it’s a good reminder for whenever we receive answers to prayer (big and small) or when life currently seems to be a bed of roses

  2. James Hoey October 22, 2010 at 1:26 PM #

    Nicely written Vic!

    and I agree with Jase, We are blessed so that we can bless others.

Leave a Reply

